Jang Dong-gun returns to television

Well I never thought I’d see the day. A-lister Jang Dong-gun (Warrior’s Way, Good Morning President), who starred in all my crack dramas of yesteryear, is reportedly coming back to the small screen, for the first time in twelve years. Can it be true? I feel like I’m in a time warp. I wonder if seeing him on tv will make me feel like a teenager again. Wait… I hope that’s not the side effect I’m going to incur. Jang has signed on to take the lead in A Gentleman’s Dignity, the new drama from Secret Garden writer Kim Eun-sook, scheduled for a spring broadcast. You’d pretty much guess that she titled the drama after Jang, who is a gentleman’s dignity personified.

 

The drama is a 20-episode weekend miniseries described as a male version of Sex and the City, about the ins and outs of a group of 40-something bachelors. Sexy ajusshi bromance? Yes please. Starring alongside Jang will be Kim Min-jong (Athena), another member of the 90s drama leading man club, and funnyman Kim Suro (Mr. Idol, Romantic Heaven). With Jang Dong-gun and Kim Min-jong in one drama, you’re pretty much halfway to completing my dream drama cast (basically if you added Lee Jung-jae and Sohn Ji-chang my inner teenager would spontaneously combust).

What the drama doesn’t have yet is a leading lady, since top contender Lee Na-young dropped out of the running. I’m actually glad since I found the potential pairing a little off. I can’t wait to see who they cast for the lead and opposite Kim Min-jong as well. I don’t think I’ve ever been excited about a cast of ajusshis before, but hey, when you age like Jang Dong-gun, you don’t really get called ajusshi, at least not without “hot” in front of it.

A Gentleman’s Dignity will air on weekends and premieres in May on SBS.

Source – dramabeans

Leave a Reply

